Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Officiating exam ... can you answer the questions?

  1. #1

    Default Officiating exam ... can you answer the questions?

    Here are some basic basketball rules questions taken from an annual refresher exam administered to officials each year ... answers are TRUE or FALSE:

    (There are 75 questions on the exam ... I won't tell you how many I answered incorrectly overall but, it was very few )

    1. A-1, while moving, catches the ball with his/her right foot on the floor. A-1 jumps and alights on both feet simultaneously. Prior to beginning a dribble, A-1 lifts the right foot off the floor and then releases the ball to start the dribble. The official rules a legal start of a dribble. Is the official correct?

    2. A-1, in the front court, passes the ball to A-2, who is in the frontcourt. A-2 muffs the ball and the ball hits an official who is standing on the division line. The ball rebounds back to A-2, who catches it without the ball touching the floor. The official rules a backcourt violation on team A. Is the official correct?

    3. A-1, who has completed his/her dribble, passes to A-2. A-2 unable to catch the ball, taps it back toward A-1. A-1 recovers the ball and starts a new dribble. The official rules this a double dribble. Is the official correct?

    4. A-1, while airborne, taps a pass to the floor, returns to the floor, catches the ball and then starts a dribble. The official rules this a double dribble. Is the offi cial correct?

    5. The ball is loose on the floor while team A is in control. A-1 commits a common foul on B-2. Team B is in the bonus. The offi cial rules a team control foul. Is the official correct?

    6. During A-1s interrupted dribble, A-1 runs several steps past the ball then returns to get the ball. When A-1 returns to the ball, the ball is motionless on the floor. A-1 hits the ball with his/her hand to give the ball motion. The official rules a double dribble. Is the official correct?

    7. A-1s pass from As backcourt hits a teammate who is in the frontcourt. The ball rebounds into the backcourt and is fi rst touched by A-1. The official rules this is not a backcourt violation because there was no player control in the frontcourt. Is the offi cial correct?

    8. During an alternating possession throw-in by team A, A-1s throw-in is caught by both A-2 and B-2 causing a held ball. The official rules the possession arrow is to be turned and awards the ball to team B. Is the official correct?

    9. During an alternating possession throw-in, A-1 places the ball through the plane of the boundary line. B-1 grabs the ball and a held ball is ruled. The official awards the ball to team B ruling that when the ball was touched while over the line, the alternating possession procedure ended. Is the official correct?

    10. A-1, while chasing the ball during his/her interrupted dribble, steps on the boundary line. The offi cial rules A-1 has committed an out of bounds violation and awards the ball to team B. Is the official correct?

    11. Following a score by team B, A-1 throws the ball along the end line to A-2. A-1 then steps inbounds. A-1 steps back out of bounds and receives a return pass from A-2, then passes the ball inbounds to A-3. The sequence takes place in less than 5 seconds. The official rules a legal play. Is the official correct?

  2. #2
    Member Sans Gravitas Donuthole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    15,743

    Default

    I'll take a stab (answers and explanations in bold).

    Quote Originally Posted by tooblue View Post
    Here are some basic basketball rules questions taken from an annual refresher exam administered to officials each year ... answers are TRUE or FALSE:

    (There are 75 questions on the exam ... I won't tell you how many I answered incorrectly overall but, it was very few )

    1. A-1, while moving, catches the ball with his/her right foot on the floor. A-1 jumps and alights on both feet simultaneously. Prior to beginning a dribble, A-1 lifts the right foot off the floor and then releases the ball to start the dribble. The official rules a legal start of a dribble. Is the official correct? No. Traveling.
    2. A-1, in the front court, passes the ball to A-2, who is in the frontcourt. A-2 muffs the ball and the ball hits an official who is standing on the division line. The ball rebounds back to A-2, who catches it without the ball touching the floor. The official rules a backcourt violation on team A. Is the official correct? No. Official is part of the court but his contact with back court or out of bounds does not extend to the ball when the ball touches him. Ball is not in the backcourt until it or the player touches the backcourt.
    3. A-1, who has completed his/her dribble, passes to A-2. A-2 unable to catch the ball, taps it back toward A-1. A-1 recovers the ball and starts a new dribble. The official rules this a double dribble. Is the official correct? No. As long as A-1 relenquished control of the ball before A-2 touched it, then possession has changed and A-1 is free to dribble anew.
    4. A-1, while airborne, taps a pass to the floor, returns to the floor, catches the ball and then starts a dribble. The official rules this a double dribble. Is the offi cial correct?Yes. Controlling the ball while in the air and intentionally putting it on the ground constitutes a dribble. By catching the ball and then re-dribbling, Player A-1 has double dribbled.
    5. The ball is loose on the floor while team A is in control. A-1 commits a common foul on B-2. Team B is in the bonus. The official rules a team control foul. Is the official correct? Don't know, but I'll guess no. Even though the team is in possession of the ball, they are not in control of it. It should be a loose ball foul.
    6. During A-1s interrupted dribble, A-1 runs several steps past the ball then returns to get the ball. When A-1 returns to the ball, the ball is motionless on the floor. A-1 hits the ball with his/her hand to give the ball motion. The official rules a double dribble. Is the official correct? Yes. Once the motion of the ball has stopped, the dribble is over. Redribbling without a change of possession to another player is a double dribble.
    7. A-1s pass from As backcourt hits a teammate who is in the frontcourt. The ball rebounds into the backcourt and is first touched by A-1. The official rules this is not a backcourt violation because there was no player control in the frontcourt. Is the official correct? Yes. Both feet of the player possessing the ball must be in the front court and the player must be in control of the ball in order to lock the backcourt. There is no control of the ball here, thus no backcourt violation.
    8. During an alternating possession throw-in by team A, A-1s throw-in is caught by both A-2 and B-2 causing a held ball. The official rules the possession arrow is to be turned and awards the ball to team B. Is the official correct? Not sure, but I'm guessing the possession arrow cannot be turned until team A actually possess the ball. Simultaneous possession with B is not possession for A so the arrow never should have been turned.
    9. During an alternating possession throw-in, A-1 places the ball through the plane of the boundary line. B-1 grabs the ball and a held ball is ruled. The official awards the ball to team B ruling that when the ball was touched while over the line, the alternating possession procedure ended. Is the official correct? No idea. I'll guess No, based on my last explanation. Simultaneous possession is not possession for A, so the arrow shouldn't change.
    10. A-1, while chasing the ball during his/her interrupted dribble, steps on the boundary line. The official rules A-1 has committed an out of bounds violation and awards the ball to team B. Is the official correct? Depends on whether the player has established both feet back in bounds before touching the ball again. Not enough information given.
    11. Following a score by team B, A-1 throws the ball along the end line to A-2. A-1 then steps inbounds. A-1 steps back out of bounds and receives a return pass from A-2, then passes the ball inbounds to A-3. The sequence takes place in less than 5 seconds. The official rules a legal play. Is the official correct? Yes. I don't believe there is any limitation to the number of times A-1 and A-2 can exchange the ball out of bounds so long as it is in the 5-second window. A-1 cannot inbound to A-2 or vice versa, though, which is why it was properly inbounded to A-3.
    Prepare to put mustard on those words, for you will soon be consuming them, along with this slice of humble pie that comes direct from the oven of shame set at gas mark egg on your face! -- Moss

    There are three rules that I live by: never get less than twelve hours sleep; never play cards with a guy who has the same first name as a city; and never get involved with a woman with a tattoo of a dagger on her body. Now you stick to that, and everything else is cream cheese. --Coach Finstock

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •