PDA

View Full Version : National Championship



BlueHair
11-30-2008, 10:01 PM
Is there any reason Oklahoma and Texas couldn't meet in the National Championship? Everyone assumes Florida will jump Texas if they beat Alabama. What if they beat Alabama, but do not jump Texas? That would leave Oklahoma #1 and Texas #2.

Hot Lunch
12-01-2008, 08:48 AM
Is there any reason Oklahoma and Texas couldn't meet in the National Championship? Everyone assumes Florida will jump Texas if they beat Alabama. What if they beat Alabama, but do not jump Texas? That would leave Oklahoma #1 and Texas #2.

I thought that the BCS made it a rule that if you didn't win your conference then you can't play in the national championship. For some reason I remember reading something along these lines.

Babs
12-01-2008, 09:20 AM
I thought that the BCS made it a rule that if you didn't win your conference then you can't play in the national championship.

No, they didn't. There have been proponents pushing the rule for awhile, but it's never been instated.

To answer the question, there's no doubt Florida would jump Texas if the Gators knock off undefeated Alabama.