Hydration Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hydration Question

I have been biking for a couple of years now so I am still a newbie. I typically ride 15-25 miles at a time. I would like to try some longer rides now that the weather is nice. But how do you stay hydrated on those 80 mile rides? Can you carry that much on your bike? As a rule of thumb, how much water should one plan for on a long ride?
    "There is no creature more arrogant than a self-righteous libertarian on the web, am I right? Those folks are just intolerable."
    "It's no secret that the great American pastime is no longer baseball. Now it's sanctimony." -- Guy Periwinkle, The Nix.
    "Juilliardk N I ibuprofen Hyu I U unhurt u" - creekster

Originally posted by Jeff Lebowski View Post
    I have been biking for a couple of years now so I am still a newbie. I typically ride 15-25 miles at a time. I would like to try some longer rides now that the weather is nice. But how do you stay hydrated on those 80 mile rides? Can you carry that much on your bike? As a rule of thumb, how much water should one plan for on a long ride?
    I'll defer to the experts, but I've found the answer is, in part, a function of temperature and exertion. On our recent long rides, it's been pretty mild but I still sweat quite a bit. I carry two big bottles, and I have to refill them about 2-3 hours. In hot weather, I think I'd go through one in as little as 30 minutes. We plan our ride so that there's a 7-11 or gas station somewhere near the midpoint of our trip and we buy a lot of water and/or Gatorade. Last Saturday, we bought three quarts of water at a biker's joint out in the sticks, and used a small packet of Gatorade I'd brought to add to one our bottles.

We also have Camelbaks but I don't like the weight as much on my back, so I'll use that only if there isn't a place to re-tank along the way.

Comment