Help with garbage disposal

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with garbage disposal

My garbage disposal isn't working. For the last few months, when I turn it on it sounds like there's a fork in there, even though there isn't. Then this weekened it just stopped working altogether. When I hit the switch, I just hear a motor sounds, but nothing rotates. It sounds like it wants to move, but maybe something's blocking it? A quick look with my flashlight shows nothing in the way.

Anyway, I've never worked on one of these before (or much else, really). Anyone have any ideas about what might be wrong or how to go about investigating/fixing it? TIA.
    Ain't it like most people, I'm no different. We love to talk on things we don't know about.

"The only one of us who is so significant that Jeff owes us something simply because he decided to grace us with his presence is falafel." -- All-American

GIVE 'EM HELL, BRIGHAM!

Depending on the model and age there might be a little wrench that is in a pouch affixed to the side of the hting. There is also, possibley, alittle nut at the bottom of the disposal unit. Use the wrench to try to turn that nut. Sometimes the disposal freezes up becasue of the crap it is asked to deal with. That nut turns the spindle and can sometimes serve to free it up. At least thta's how mine works.

First, though, I think you shoudl go on line and get a manual for your model and make and see what it suggests. I assume you have already done this?
    PLesa excuse the tpyos.

Comment