Black Gold is worse than Black Mold

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Black Gold is worse than Black Mold

I don't know how many of you are following this oil spill in the Gulf. It's my industry, so I've been following it since the beginning.

I'm not an expert on the technical specs on platforms and such, nor am I an expert on the impact of oil spils, but I do know more than the average joe by a good bit.

This is a big deal. These sorts of things just don't happen.

BP (who already has a pretty shoddy safety reputation, at least in the industry) is going to suffer a major black eye from this. Exxon-Valdez was big and horrible, but it was in Alaska, which most of us care about only in the abstract. This is in the Gulf, which is closer to home and very close to home for some CUF members (the beach I vacation to is in danger).

After a few days worth of thought, I'm pretty sure that the gov't requirements aren't stringent enough in terms of bonding requirements. In this case, all the clean-up costs are going to get paid for because BP has very deep pockets. But there are many, many, many oil properties run by smaller companies without such pockets who would not be able to pay for the clean-up.

Right now, you have to post some sort of security, typically, to cover the decommissioning of your activities with respect to a certain piece of property. That security is enough to cover business as expected, though, not unexpected spills. I think bonding for spills is a good idea. It will cost more at the pump, to be sure, but the last thing you want is Butte, Montana in the middle of the ocean.

I also think a look at the leak prevention technology needs to be looked at and maybe federally mandated. BP has spent the last few days trying to get a valve to trigger - a valve that is supposed to automatically trigger and keep this from happening in the first place.