Utah, love it or leave it

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Utah, love it or leave it

After being pointed at the forum by someone at church (it shouldn't be to hard to figure out who), I decided to check out the Cougar/Ute forum. Other than having no interest at all in sports between the two schools (or any stick-and-ball sports for that matter [See quote 1 below]), I'm probably an excellent candidate for membership in the forum. I'm in a mixed marriage - I graduated from the University of Utah and my wife graduated from Brigham Young University. I also have two daughters who graduated from BYU plus one from BYU Idaho and a son who received an associate degree from Ricks College (before the name change) and also went to Utah State.

I've actually been following the forum for several months now, but have hesitated joining because I really want to stay out of religious and political discussions. I'm happy to carry on discussions based on facts - being an engineer and all - but that's often not possible when discussion religion and politics. So if I ever get sucked into one of those discussions, somebody please remind me to stay out of it.

I'm not big on taking up an imaginary existence with a clever user name or avatar, preferring to just be myself and use personal photos or photos of personal things for an avatar. I'll probably change the avatar once in a while as the mood strikes me until I find the perfect one. I won't be changing the avatar every day, though!

I'm a member of a lot of forums, but none as general as this one. None of those are really appropriate for discussing various aspects of life, so we'll see how it goes here.