Salt Lake & Provo vs Boise

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Salt Lake & Provo vs Boise

What was Brigham Young thinking coming here instead of Fort Boise? "This is the place"? Maybe in his dreams.

Link:

http://louisianatech.scout.com/2/948181.html
    Col. Klink: "Staff officers are so clever."
    Gen. Burkhalter: "Klink, I am a staff officer."
    Col. Klink: "I didn't mean you sir, you're not clever."

Holy cow. That was the funniest thing I have ever read. Thank you.

My favorite gems:

"The next two closest schools mentioned in Pac-10 expansion, BYU and Utah live in an area in which travel in and out of can be extremely difficult with flights often delayed or cancelled. BYU suffers from a further disadvantage of being a full hour away from the nearest airport. So even if they are closer to four of the ten Pac-10 schools, travel is very difficult in months of snow (October-March)."

- They have Utah closer to USC and UCLA than BYU

"Cooler than some U.S. cites; certainly, but not near as cold as Salt Lake City (home to Utah ), Provo (home to BYU) and Boulder (home to Colorado , another school mentioned as an expansion candidate). Salt Lake City averages 27 degrees for a low in December and 25 in January (Source: Weather.com). Provo is colder still—24 degrees for an average high in December and 22 in January. Boulder ’s average low temperature is 19 in December and 21 in January. Boise ’s weather is warmer than Utah for certain—23 in December and 23 in January and the balmy temperatures in the spring, summer and fall. (Source: Cityrating.com). And the motto of Utah , which boasts of “The Greatest Snow on Earth”, tells us that Utah is the place that gets all the snow. Boulder , too, gets dumped on every winter. "

Clearly Boise, with a low average temperature of 23 degrees in December and January, is much warmer than SLC (25 and 27)

Comment

You're missing the best part...