My day in Provo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My day in Provo

A few comments about my day in Provo on Saturday.

First: The game was great. A lot of fun. I was in a section with very few Ute fans but the ones that were there were received in good humor and no one seemed to be in a fighting mood. It was a beautiful night perfect for football.

Second: Triplet knows his stuff on buying scalped tickets. He gave me some pointers before the game and he was spot on. I appreciate his help. I got decent seats for a decent price.

Third: I am no football expert, but Wynn looked pretty good to me. His long ball is very nice. He was overthrowing a bit, it is true, but he also had his bell rung a couple of times and that surely didn’t help.

Fourth: The stadium is really clean. And nice, for the most part. I wish the replay screens were bigger and I wish they wouldn’t show those goofy Cosmo videos. The last time I went to a game I was with my then 11 year old and he loved the video. This time my 17 year old daughter thought it was stupid.

Fifth: Does anyone else think the Ute fight song sounds like the Mickey Mouse theme song? And why was the Ute band playing blithely along while a BYU player was on the ground hurt? And why was the BYU band so, well, not loud or exciting? I was disappointed that the bands had a number together at halftime. I was hoping they would get into a brawl with brass weapons. Maybe next year they could do some sort of band competition involving colliding trombone sections and beer throwing.

Sixth: what was up with putting Max out on the wing for the first two plays? What good does that do? No one respected his presence there, all it seemed to do was remove all doubt about it being a running play. Isn’t the point of the wildcat to give the offense an extra blocker to one side or another? A very disappointing way to begin, IMO.